Christmas in Cambodia is simple joys, books & toys. This year, more than ever, we owe it to ourselves to spread happiness to children in every corner of the world.

Girl Meets World

Its beginning to feel a lot like Christmas… in a very weird way.  Bustling streets have lights on the palm trees, and shops play christmas tracks all day. Even my 6 year-old, ESL, predominantly Buddhist munchkins know the words to “Jingle Bells.”

I sort of got to play the role of Santa this past week (sans the beard and belly, fortunately.)  My grandmother, Roro, sent money for me to buy books and other supplies for the kids at SSD orphanage. Its incredible how much $50 was able to buy! Books, books, books, as well as crayons, coloring books and color-your-own animal masks, which were an instant hit. I sat with them and read them The Little Mermaid while they colored. Check out the pictures I posted below!

It was so heartwarming how thankful they were for these gifts – gifts that would be overshadowed by expensive, hi-tech gadgets back in…

View original post 226 more words

