Day 323

On my solitary walks and swims this week (yes, I am counting swimming, so shut up about it) I’ve found myself returning again to the idea of Grace, Generosity, and Gratitude that came to me this spring. At the time, I was focused a lot on generosity and gratitude. I’m grateful for what I have and so I can be generous toward others, blah blah blah. I encouraged others to do the same.

Since my return from Europe I’ve found myself feeling less than generous, grateful, and gracious. Now I see that the creed or motto to live that way was easy when it was what I was truly feeling inside.

But what about when you’re not feeling particularly grateful and generous? What about when you’re faced with a personal challenge or struggle?  How about when the 3Gs are Grumpy, Grouchy, and Give-me-a-F(&*in BREAK!?

Struggling graciously with your own demons and challenges I think means carrying on with the attitude of kindness, gratitude, and generosity even when you don’t really feel so kind, grateful, or generous. At least, I think that’s what it means. I’m doing my best to figure it out.

If you see me walking around scratching my head and talking to myself, now you’ll know why. And if I see you walking around scowling or talking to yourself, I promise I’ll bite my tongue rather than prattling on about the 3Gs … or complaining about those alternative 3Gs (see above).. The moment of smugness has passed.

