Day 174

I’m absolutely certain there’s more than one sane and reasonable way to respond when your husband sends you a link to an article that says (and I quote, here) — “Look babe, women need 60-minutes a day of exercise to stave off middle-aged weight gain.”

Now the first, instinctive response to this email is certainly to lunge for a donut the treadmill (or do a backbend like I did – yes, that really is a picture of me doing a backbend over a donut!).

A second is to burst into tears. A third sane and fully justified response would be to type out  SOMETHING  REALLY $%?!#?&NG* NASTY in BIG TYPE and hit the reply button.

But if you are keeping a daily blog about your  year of daily walks then the only thing to do is read it, post it, and love it.

So here it is, girls, straight from Harvard Medical School via JAMA, my husband Frank, and the Wall Street Journal: Women at a normal weight who consume a normal diet can beat middle-age weight gain by working out intensely for 30 minutes a day, whether by running, cycling, swimming laps or working out at a gym. Weight gain can also be prevented with 60 minutes of moderate activity, such as walking, a leisurely bike ride or playing catch.

Throw the old 150 minutes a week rule out the window. If you want to keep your thighs respectable and your butt zipped into yourjeans you are going to have to exercise 420 minutes a week. Just like me.

Want to see the piece your doctor and your fitness instructor are going to be quoting to you next week? Click here and go right to the source.

Oh, and by the way, I was only kidding about the backbend. Did you really think I’d keep a giant donut in my house!?

