Day 117

I love soup. And by soup, I mean HOT soup. Cold soup is really just chip dip in a bowl with a spoon.

I especially love soup on a cold winter day after I’ve been out walking. I love chicken soup, vegetable soup, mulligatawny soup, meatball Sunday supper soup, butternut squash soup.  Today I tasted my friend Eric’s Roasted Vegetable Soup after a walk in the park, and on the way back home I stopped, bought the ingredients, and made the soup.  Nothing but veggies, and I swear to you it tastes like Cream of Broccoli.

Here’s the recipe:

You need a head of cauliflower, half a package of mushrooms (I used brown mushrooms), 4 carrots, 1 large parsnip (I added that, Eric’s didn’t have it), 3 garlic cloves, a pint of veggie or chicken stock, salt and pepper. You also need a blender.

Chop the cauliflower into florets, cut the mushrooms in half, julienne the carrots, mince the garlic. Put it in a bowl and mix with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Roast in roasting pan lined with foil (oven at 350) for 20 minutes. Remove from oven. Put veggies and broth in pot. Simmer for 15 minutes, or until veggies are soft, not mushy. Use a coffee mug** to scoop the veggies out of the pot and put into the blender with the broth. Fill blender 3/4, purée so there are still pieces of veggies recognizable.  When you’ve pureed everything, you are done.  Voila…soup!

Go out for your walk, come home, and have a bowl.  If you’re one of those people who needs a REASON for everything, check out this “Soup Therapy” article from Dr. Mao.  And enjoy.

**Note: you don’t need to use the coffee mug to scoop out the veggies. But it worked for me.

