Day 60

Henry David Thoreau (yes, he of Walden Pond) is among the many writers, philosophers, and painters who found solace and creative inspiration walking in the woods.

In his treatise, Walking, delivered to an audience in 1851, Thoreau urged others to follow his footsteps, while lamenting that only the most ennobled few knew how to properly pursue what he thought of as the lost art of venturing forth from home on a natural expedition that might last for days.

Two or three hours’ walking will carry me to as strange a country as I expect ever to see, he said.

My friend Pam and I went out into the forest today.  Here’s the strange country we found:

When we walk, we naturally go to the fields and woods; Thoreau said. what would become of us, if we walked only in a garden or mall?

Here’s a possibility: 

Finally, Thoreau urged his fellow saunterers to go boldly on each walk in the spirit of undying adventure. Pam and I did:

