Day 47

We interrupt this walking year to bring you today’s message from the The Happiness Project:  “strong bonds with other people” is the single best route to a happy life.

I couldn’t agree with Happiness Project creator Gretchen Rubin more.  Not just because she’s been working on this happiness thing for almost a year now. And not only because her weekly happiness notes are carried on Slate and Psychology Today blogsites…but because she’s got a lot of great information about satisfaction, joy, and the pursuit of happiness on her blog.  Here are a few tips I love:

  •  You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy.
  •   Be polite and fair.
  •  Enjoy the process.
  •  Let it go. 
  •  Get more sleep!
  •  Make your bed.
  •  Sticking to any resolution – no matter what it is – brings satisfaction
  • My Big Walk is “A fabulous happiness project! I love it!”

Yes fellow walkers, it’s true — My Big Walk is a fabulous happiness project. And it has been cited on Gretchen’s Slate.com post today.  

On her weekly blog, Gretchen’s urges people to start their own happiness project, and she’s created a Happiness Project Toolbox to get you started.

She says, I’m working on my Happiness Project, and you could have one, too! Everyone’s project will look different, but it’s the rare person who can’t benefit. Join in — no need to catch up, just jump in right now. Each Friday’s post will help you think about your own happiness project.

Whatever you choose for your happiness project, I hope you’ll find what you’re looking for: peace, contentment, courage, happiness, health, companionship, well-being, purpose. Only you can know  what you’re looking for. And you can only find it if you start small, and stick with it. 

Tomorrow, I’ll get back to basics: walking with my teenage son in Essex County’s Hilltop Park.  Today, I’d like to leave you with this thought from the German writer/philosopher, Goethe:

Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it.   Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.

 

