Day 17                                       

 

man walking in underwearAhh, how quickly the tides turn.

“Hey Laurie, it’s ___________.  I’m just looking at the rain and thinking how glad I am that I haven’t committed to walking an hour every day for a year.”

“Hey Laurie, I hate to be a fair weather friend  but….this weather is driving me right to the treadmill. And please don’t call me a wimp on your blog.”

I’ve never used the term “schadenfreude” with full confidence before. But having read the word in Olive Kitteridge, and heard it used as the punchline to a joke at a gathering this week, I made it a point to find out once and for all…what does Freud have to do with deriving pleasure from the misfortune of others?

The answer of course, is nothing. Freud didn’t derive pleasure from others’ misfortune, silly. He just made a living at it.

Schadenfreude (pronounced /ˈʃɑːdənfrɔɪdə/, German pronunciation: [ˈʃaːdənˌfʁɔʏ̯də]) en-us-schadenfreude.ogg Audio (US) (help·info)  (Wikipedia). 

“Freude” is a derivative of an old English word meaning “peace,” while the “schaden,” is from a word that translates as “harm, adversity.”

So you see, the word is a complete oxymoron: adversity/peace.  Just like walking in the cold bitter rain and enjoying it. Which I’m about to do now. 

Or maybe in a little while.

