Day 16

Two weeks and roughly 50 miles down…fifty weeks and 950 miles to go. 

 When friends walk with me, it makes it a better day and an easier hike.  That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Sharing the journey.  Even if you’re in Berlin (like Cyd) or Montreal (like Melissa), and I’m in Montclair…or Paris. Where I’ll be walking next week.

 Judy L.: This talented author hikes up the hill into South Mountain judyReservation every morning. “Besides clearing my head for writing, it’s given me the chance to know the forest in all seasons for several years now.”

Cowgirl Storey: When she’s not in Montana, Storey hikes with her dogs in thestorey wilds of NJ. “I began in earnest the year I adopted my first dog Chester, 1995. …13 years and two more dogs later I spend each morning in Eagle Rock Reservation,” she says. “I know the res like the back of my hand and don’t know what I would do with out its respite from life in northern New Jersey. Walk on!”

019

Oh My Melissa, Living in Montreal:   My daughter is fun, fit, and a favorite companion. If I had one wish it would be to spend more time with her.  But GEEZ, she runs up Mont Royal every day, and that’s a hard act to follow.

  Jessica, A Big Loser: That’s right, Jessica lost 20 pounds this year — not justjessicawolf by walking every day (if only it were that easy) but by following Weight Watchers and doing funny math…expanding 300 calories walking, and allowing herself a 75 calorie banana. You can read more about Jessica and bananas on her blog.

Send me your walking story, and I’ll post  it next week!

