yogaNot long ago, when I was practicing hot Bikram yoga three or four times a week, I dreamt that I was in a dark steamy yoga studio, lying on the ground in savasana. The instructor asked a question, and no one answered. But I knew the answer, and I raised my hand.
“We empty ourselves so that we can be full,” I said. empty and full
The instructor indicated with a nod that indeed, I had given the right answer. He wanted me to say more about this Zen-riddle response, but I could only muster a weak whimper.
“I hate this religion,” I said. Then I woke up.

When I go out walking each morning, I find my mind racing with thoughts about walking and treking and sauntering and wandering. The further I walk, the slower my thoughts become, until by the end of the walk I can hardly remember all the clever ideas that had seemed so excellent, so stimulating and exciting, when I first set out from home.

At first this troubed me. But then I remembered my dream: I am empty at the end of the walk, and I am ready to begin my day. This is just the kind of calm I hoped I’d come to as I approach walking as a practice, much like yoga or meditation. I’ll bring myself to the walk, and see what happens.

I hope you will, too.

